CPCC Awards Dr. Kathy Drumm its 2014 Distinguished Service Award

Central Piedmont Community College (CPCC) will present Dr. Kathy Drumm, executive vice president for CPCC, with the 2014 Distinguished Service Award at the college's spring commencement ceremony on May 15 at Bojangles' Coliseum. This is the first time a CPCC employee has won the award, an honor that recognizes an individual whose service and leadership have greatly benefitted the college and Charlotte-Mecklenburg region.

Posted in Announcements, Campus, Community, Events.

CPCC Names Paula Vincent the Richard H. Hagemeyer Award Recipient

Central Piedmont Community College (CPCC) will present Paula Vincent, president of the Novant Health Foundation and Community Relations, with the 2014 Richard H. Hagemeyer Educational Advancement Award at its spring commencement ceremony on May 15 at Bojangles' Coliseum. The award recognizes a former CPCC student who has benefited significantly from experiences at CPCC and whose efforts have helped the community.

Vincent's association with CPCC began in the early-to-mid 1970s. She earned an associate degree in nursing from the college in 1977, launching a healthcare career that would span to the present day.

Over the past nearly four decades she has held numerous roles of increasing responsibility with Novant Health, including staff nurse; nurse manager; administrator; vice president of community acute services; vice president and chief nursing officer; and senior vice president of operations. Today, Vincent serves as president of the Novant Health Foundation and Community Relations, pulling together six independent foundations to centralize processes to better serve Novant Health and its communities.

She shares her expertise with others through her many leadership roles on boards and committees in the Charlotte area. Vincent currently serves on the Greater Charlotte Healthcare Executives Group Board and the Second Harvest Food Bank Advisory Board. In addition to these responsibilities, she is also a member of the American College Health Executives, the Medic Board of Commissioners, the American Nurses Association and Medic Agency Management Committee, among others.

And yet, despite these many time commitments, Vincent still finds time to give back to her alma mater. As a CPCC Foundation Board member she works to provide resources for CPCC students, faculty and staff that contribute to excellence in learning and student success. She also serves in a consulting role with CPCC administration, helping develop new educational programs and services for current and future students. Past accomplishments include the development of the college's Occupational Therapy and Pharmacy Technology programs, and she is currently working with CPCC to expand other healthcare program offerings.

In addition to maintaining strong ties with CPCC, she is an active member of the UNC Charlotte community as well. She earned both her bachelor's and master's degrees in nursing from the institution and serves on the university's College of Health & Human Services Advisory Board, demonstrating further her intent to not only enhance community health, but also provide new opportunities to students across the region.

"Paula has been, and remains, a positive role model as a graduate of CPCC," said Michael Moss, vice president for finance and administrative services at CPCC, who nominated Vincent for the award. "She exemplifies all of the qualities of a Hagemeyer Award recipient continued personal and educational growth, increased economic status and community involvement."

A scholarship will be granted to a CPCC student enrolled in the College's Christa A. Overcash Associate Degree Nursing Program the area of study that most closely reflects Vincent's background.

The Hagemeyer Award takes its name from Dr. Richard H. Hagemeyer, CPCC president for 23 years, who led the college from its beginnings as a trade school with 1,200 students to the state's largest community college. Previous award winners include Elaine Lyerly, Gary Mims, Ronald Caldwell, Sheriff Jim Pendegraph, Dr. Margaret Stanley Hagan, Paul Griffin, James White, Joe Weatherford, Chief Luther Fincher, Dr. Kenny Welch, Frances Queen, Richard Zollinger, Stanley Law, Cindy Castano, Fabi Preslar, James Taylor Jr., James E. Rogers, David L. Howard and Dr. Alain S. Miatudila Sr. To learn more about the Richard H. Hagemeyer Educational Advancement Award and its requirements, please visit cpccfoundation.org/alumni/hagemeyer-award-honorees/.

Posted in Alumni, Announcements, Community, Events.